Governing Body | The Royal Central School of Speech and Drama

Governing Body

The Governing Body is collectively responsible for overseeing the institution’s activities, determining its future direction and fostering an environment in which the institutional mission is achieved. It ensures compliance with the statutes, ordinances and provisions regulating Central’s framework of governance.

The Governing Body has established committees, formally constituted with terms of reference in accordance with delegated powers.

The Governing Body has a majority of independent members, chosen in accordance with agreed criteria to ensure a balance of skills and experience sufficient to meet its primary responsibilities and to ensure stakeholder confidence.

The Chair of Governors is elected from among the independent members. There is also provision for the appointment of co-opted members and Governors from within the staff and student body.

No members of the Governing Body receive any remuneration for the work that they do for Central.

Central regularly welcomes new independent members to its Governing Body. Expressions of interest should be submitted, with an up to date Curriculum Vitae to the Clerk to Governors Debbie Scully.

Independent Governors

John Willis is Central's Chairman of the Board of Governors

John Willis

Chair of Governors
Independent Governor


Menna McGregor

Deputy Chair of Governors
Independent Governor


Anthony Blackstock

Chair of Audit Committee
Independent Governor

Image from Royal Central School of Speech and Drama

Clare Hennings

Chair of Finance Committee

Independent Governor

Image from Royal Central School of Speech and Drama

Abdul Bhanji, OBE

Independent Governor


Eleni Gill

Independent Governor


Alan Haigh

Independent Governor


Professor Simon McVeigh

Independent Governor


Anne Mensah

Independent Governor


Mark White

Independent Governor


Emily Thommes

Independent Governor


Christina Coker, OBE

Independent Governor

Student and Staff Governors

Professor Gavin Henderson, CBE

Ex officio


Professor Maria Delgado B.A., M.A., Ph.D, FRSA

Professor Maria Delgado

Director of Research
Academic Board Elected Governor


Holly Barraclough

Students' Union President


Shreya Chatterjee

Students’ Union Vice President Postgraduate
Student elected


Stephen Farrier

Stephen Farrier

Reader in Theatre and Performance
Staff elected


Clerk to Governors

Headshot image of Debbie Scully, Clerk to the Governors at Central

Debbie Scully

Deputy Principal/Deputy CEO


Deputy Clerk to Governors

Karen Burnell

Deputy Clerk to Governors

Contact Us